Arduin Mural

The first edition of Arduin Grimoire had cover art by Erol Otus. The second edition had art by Greg Espinoza. He had recently won the Bally pinball art contest in Starlog magazine (Feb. 1980, issue #31).

He did two pictures for Dave Hargrave for the front and back of the second edition of Arduin Grimoire. I’ve been in the process of copying the back cover to my wall. It started in March, so it’s been six months so far. I work on it in dribs and drabs. I had to redo the face three times. I figure most of the hard parts are done and the rest is reproducing several repeating texture patterns. As is clear, I’m no Greg Espinoza.

I will say that the mural is so large, perhaps 7-8′, that it looks like the gate into a diorama I could walk into. I’ve scaled it up about X20. Almost life sized. When I stand in front of it, I’m a bit shocked by the strength of the impression it makes.

IMG_1211arduin1

About brasspen

Putting on an old school RPG con in Toronto.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Arduin Mural

  1. Angry Monk says:

    Awesome! I can’t wait to see the finished product.

  2. Very nice to see people still remember my art. 🙂

Comments are closed.